In light of how humankind has been treating itself over the last weeks and months, I’m reminded of a line from the most famous of the Monty Python Songs. “Life is full of Shit, when you look at it..” – I think that pretty much sums up how I’m feeling right now. I’m angry and sad and the temptation is to feel powerless in the face of so much awfulness and especially violence.
So my answer to this is to fight violence with beauty, to encourage folk to embrace gentility and honesty and story (and lots of CAKE). I’m reposting this from a while back because this principle within, that we should fill our minds and souls with Truth, rightness, excellence, beauty etc. as an antidote to the awful things surrounding us. And over the next few weeks I’m going to take my own advice and fall in love with some simple and beautiful stories again. It might feel or seem like I’m just hiding in a cave or burying my head in the sand, but what I’m doing is fighting violence not with itself, but by embracing beauty, gentleness and creativity – by loving and living story. Another way to think of it is that if we fill our minds, hearts and souls with stories of goodness, gentleness and truth, there will be less room for the narratives of hate, of “them and us”, of revenge and punishment that have been shouted at us over the last months.
Or put another way, if we all thought a little bit more about cake and a lot less about revenge, this world would be a much better place.
(This is what I’ll be watching over the next weeks up to Christmas and sharing some thoughts: Spirited Away; Edward Scissorhands; Up; ET: The Extra Terrestrial)

thatstorygirl

the_princess_bride_line_up_by_asashi_kami-d395ik8

“Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”  Phillipians 4:8

So asking myself why I am writing this Blog, why I’m willing to make myself vulnerable and opening up my love of stories, my thoughts on film, my take on life – Well, it can be summed up by the biblical quote above. Because what I want to do is to encourage you out there – friend, neighbour, stranger, companion, lover – to thoroughly embrace stories. And I don’t want you just to partake of ordinary stories, but these stories – ones in which I see truth, nobility, rightness, purity, loveliness. Stories to be admired, that are excellent, that are praiseworthy. I want to share with you something that I truly believe will actually help you navigate this life, will draw you…

View original post 1,128 more words

